Tri-School Theatre Students Honored at Cappies and MACY Organizations

I am proud to announce that the following students have been honored by the MACY Childress and Cappies organizations!  The Cappies ceremony was held last night at The Grove in Anaheim, and the MACY ceremony was held last weekend at the Segerstrom Center for the Performing Arts. 

The MACY Childress organization was founded in 1969 to recognize the work of high school theatre students.  Tri-School was honored to be asked to perform a 4 minute excerpt from our spring musical, Seussical on the mainstage at Segerstrom on May 27th, 2012.  The Segerstrom Center for the Performing Arts (formerly Orange County Performing Arts Center) is the largest theatre in Orange County.  We were also invited to send two performers to join in an opening number comprised of students from all participating schools, and we were represented by Spencer Fovell and Erica Schaeffer. 

The following students received awards from MACY for Little Shop of Horrors:

Bright Spot Award: Hannah Butler, Jasmen Villagomez, Gregory Jenn, Lexi Cross, Danielle Carr
Special Recognition Award: Spencer Fovell, Danny Kane

Achievement Award: Mel Gonzalez, Ivey Hernandez, Sarah McGuire, Nick Coad, Grant Hodges

Outstanding Achievement: Erica Schaeffer, Hunter Berecochea

The following students received awards from MACY for Seussical:

Bright Spot Award: Marione Tamase, Brooke Medina

Special Recognition Award: Brian Cox, Jeffrey Caluag, Spencer Fovell, Adam Silos

Achievement Award: Danielle Velasco, Hunter Berecochea, Gregory Jenn

Outstanding Achievement Award: Hannah Butler, Erica Schaeffer, Nicholas Coad, Mel Gonzalez, Grant Hodges

Highest Achievement Award: Sarah McGuire

In addition, Erica Schaeffer was selected to receive a college scholarship from the MACY organization.
The Cappies Awards on June 3rd, 2012 honored the following Tri-School Theatre students:
Grant Hodges was asked to perform in an opening number comprised of the nominees for Lead Actor and Actress in a Musical, as well as Vocalist and Dancer nominees.

For Special Effects Team of the Year for Seussical: Andrea Rodriguez, Katie Bowen, Bailey Bowen, Matthew Michalak

For Props Team of the Year for Seussical: Justin Roth, Roman Curiel, Robert Gomez, Molly Pascale

For Featured Actor of the Year in a Play, for his role as Gollum in The Hobbit: Jack Vogt