Katie Tijerina '15 earns all-county water polo honors

OC Varsity announced the selection of junior Katie Tijerina to the all-county water polo third team. "It is a huge honor to make it onto one of those teams," said head water polo coach Rory Bevins. "Katie works hard for every bit of success she gets. I am very proud of her." This year's team was 20-11 and ranked number 8 in Orange County.

Katie's stats
51 goals
44 assists
108 steals
First team All-Trinity league
First team All-CIF Division II

Congratulations to these players for their all-county selections:

All-County first team

Coach of the Year Brian Weathersby (Santa Margarita)

Brianna Daboub (Mater Dei)

Maddie Musselman (Corona del Mar)

Player of the Year Makenzie Fischer (Laguna Beach)

goalie Carlee Kapana (Newport Harbor)

Brigette Kimbrough (San Clemente)

Haley Wan (Santa Margarita) 

Cana Manzella (Foothill).    


Second team

Kacey Avalos, Santa Margarita, Sr.

Bella Baldridge, Laguna Beach, Fr.

Sydney Blubaugh, Mater Dei, Sr.

Cara Borkovec, Laguna Beach, Sr.

Aria Fischer, Laguna Beach, Fr.

Cleo Harrington, Newport Harbor, Sr., GK

Ella Weber, Los Alamitos, Sr.


Third team

Alaina Cousineau, San Clemente, So.

Nikki Daurio, Beckman, Jr.

Emily Konishi, Foothill, Jr.

Christina O’Beck, Newport Harbor, Sr.

Heidi Ritner, Corona del Mar, So., GK

Makenna Smith, San Clemente, Jr.

Katie Tijerina, Rosary, Jr.

Photo courtesy of Reinbold Gallery
Source: Dan Albano, OCVarsity